Hide your online status in Telegram and have a bit of your anonymity and privacy back from your family and friends.
As you know when you go online in any kind of social network or messaging app, it needs you to be visible to anyone who has you with their contacts. The same rule applies to Telegram as well. However, sometimes you might not want to let them know when you are online. This article is on how to hide your online status in Telegram. So that you can have a bit of your anonymity and privacy back from your family and friends.
Just like hiding your phone number or your real name, Telegram makes it easy to hide your online status in the app. By default, your online status on Telegram is set to everybody, which means that every user on the platform can see your Last Seen time stamp in the app.
How to Hide Your Online Status in Telegram?
Prior to hide your online status in Telegram, it is important to keep in mind that disabling your online status, will also disabling you from the ability to access view the online status of your contact list. This is pretty standard practice even in other messaging apps. So you won’t be able to surprise by that.
To Hide Your Online Status in Telegram in Android and iOS app,
- First, Open Telegram on your iPhone or Android device.
- Next, tap on the three horizontal lines in the top left corner of your screen.
- Tap on “Settings”.
- Select “Privacy and Security” in the menu.
- Now, Tap on the “Last Seen & Online” option under the header “Privacy”.
- The next screen lets you specify who can see your “Last Seen Online” time. Select one of the following that appears under the heading “Who can see your Last Seen time”.
- Everybody – “Last Seen Online” time will be shown to everybody including users you haven’t added
- My Contacts – “Last Seen Online” time will be shown to people in your contact list.
- Once you select any of the options specified above, it lets you add exceptions to these rules by adding them under the options available in the “Add Exceptions” heading.
- For example, Suppose that you select the option “Nobody”. Then it will show an option “Always Share With…”. In there you can add contacts, which would able to be seen as and when you were last online. This would be very useful for your family and close contacts.
- On the other hand, suppose that you were chosen the option “Everybody”. Then it will show an option “Never Share With…”. There you can add contacts into your block list.
- Once you select these options and add users to your exception or blocklists tap on the checkmark in the top right corner.
- Now a message will be a popup message mentioning that only approximate times will be shown. Tap OK.
What Contacts will see once you Hide Your Online Status in Telegram
By default, the Last Seen Online Timestamp will show you the date and time that you last appeared online. Once you change this setting, the user will be able to see your online status as one of the following four possible approximate windows of time.
- Recently: last seen over the last three days.
- Within a week: last seen between three to seven days.
- Within a month: last seen between seven days to a month.
- A long time ago: last seen in more than a month ago.
However, if you have blocked particular users, then they will always see “A long time ago” even if you were chatting with them recently.
That’s it. Now you know How to hide last seen on telegram on Android and iOS.